Things to Do in Devon

There is so much to explore and do in Devon that you might find it useful to do a little bit of forward planning before your holiday. A gentle start to the holiday would be at the Tiverton Canal or Knightshayes House and Gardens just 20 minutes drive from South Coombe. Going further afield the next day try a walk along the beautiful North Devon coast at Baggy Point and dip your toes in the sea at Croyde beach, a haven for surfers! If you want to explore more of the Devon Coast then you can hire bikes at various points along the Tarka Trail. Along the route there are some excellent coastal and market towns to explore such as Bideford and Instow.

Going South and heading towards Dartmoor a trip to the Minature Pony Centre is usually a big hit with all the family members. You can also enjoy scenic walks along the nature trails or relax by the lake.

A favourite destination for past guests has been Crealy Adventure Park, an award winning family attraction. The park offers rides, outdoor attractions, softplay and animal petting for younger visitors.

Your holiday starts here, enjoy your stay in Devon.

Useful links

National Trust, Devon. www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Visit South West.  www.visitsouthwest.co.uk
Visit Devon. www.visitdevon.co.uk
Heart of Devon. www.heartofdevon.com/exeter
Visit Exmoor. www.visit-exmoor.co.uk
West Somerset Railway. www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk
Quince Honey Farm, South Molton. www.quincehoney.co.uk
Minature Pony Centre. www.miniatureponycentre.com
The Donkey Sanctuary, Sidmouth. www.thedonkeysanctuary.org.uk

Walking and Cycling

Tiverton Canal & Horse Drawn Barge. www.tivertoncanal.co.uk
Haldon Forest Park. www.forestry.gov.uk/haldonforestpark
Tarka Trail. www.tarkabikes.co.uk
Baggy Point between Croyde and Ilfracombe. www.southwestcoastpath.com/baggypoint
South West Coast Path.  www.southwestcoastpath.com
Two Moors Way. www.devon.gov.uk/walking/two_moors

Heritage Houses and Gardens

Rosemoor Gardens. www.rhs.org.uk/Rosemoor-Garden
Castle Hill Gardens. www.castlehilldevon.co.uk
Knightshayes National Trust House and Gardens, Tiverton www.nationaltrust.org.uk/knightshayes
Arlington Court and National Trust Carriage Museum
www.nationaltrust.org.uk/arlington-court
Powderham Castle, Gardens and Deer Park. www.powderham.co.uk
Bicton Park Botanical Gardens. www.bictongardens.co.uk

Dining Out

The Masons Arms www.masonsarmsdevon.co.uk  (Award winning one star Michelin Restaurant)
The Hartnol Hotel. www.hartnollhotel.co.uk (hotel & restaurant)
The Mitre Inn www.the-mitre-inn.com (Witheridge)
Mount Pleasant Inn. www.mpli.ltd.uk
The Grove Inn www.thegroveinn.co.uk
Squires Fish and Chips, Braunton. www.squiresfishrestaurant.co.uk


Toddler friendly holidays

For our top 10 places to visit and other plus points of South Coombe as a holiday for Toddlers and families read ‘Toddler heaven in Devon‘: